Desert Oasis Capsule Preview

Coach: Matt Jenkins, first year.

2007 record: None

Returning starters: None

Top players: ILB Roycen Shepherd (Jr.); OLB Zach Knudson (Jr.); DT Michael DiMauro (Jr.); SS Thomas Whitney (Jr.); RB C.J. Hunt (Jr.); WR Elijah Mitchell (Jr.); FB Dominique Banks (Jr.): TE Cameron Jefferson (Jr.)

Outlook: In their first year of competition, the Diamondbacks, will play an independent schedule made up mostly of smaller schools.

Though they won’t be eligible to compete in the postseason, Jenkins has stressed the importance of this inaugural campaign.

“This year matters,” Jenkins said. “We want to go 9-0.”

Unlike most first-year schools, Desert Oasis will start the season without any players going both ways.

pos-6 — ads_infeed_1
post-4 — ads_infeed_2