Moapa Valley takes Panther Invitational

Moapa Valley won only three weight classes, but used its depth to capture the Panther Invitational on Friday at Alamo.
The Pirates led the 15-team field with 186 points. Laughlin was second with 156 followed by White Pine at 151 1/2 and host Pahranagat Valley (121).
Moapa Valley’s Cyle Durham (119), Parker Chappell (152) and Justin Ibarra (215) each went undefeated to win his respective weight class. Durham and Chappell each went 4-0, and Ibarra was 3-0.
The Pirates also had two second-place finishes and four third-place finishes and took fourth in two classes.
Laughlin had a pair of winners — Elias Villalobos at 140 and Corey Cook at 145.
White Pine’s Daylin Ruggiero won at 103, and teammate Rusty Lewis took the title at 160.
Pahranagat Valley’s Jenson Jones was the winner at 130. The Panthers’ Roy Lasike, who was named the event’s outstanding lower weight wrestler, was first at 135.
Round Mountain’s Jordan Cutler won at 125.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.