CLASS 4A HONORS: Centennial’s Durkin lauded in volleyball

Leo Durkin always has been a polished setter while playing for Centennial’s boys volleyball team.

His emergence as a capable outside hitter made for a special senior season.

Coaches recently voted Durkin the Northwest League Most Valuable Player, and Centennial’s Scott Nelson took Coach of the Year.

“(Durkin) played two roles: controlling the offense and being on the offensive end terminating balls,” Nelson said. “We knew Leo had the potential to become an effective hitter, and he was as the season progressed.”

Durkin, who has accepted a walk-on invitation from Brigham Young, led Centennial (16-4) to the Northwest League title and the semifinals of the Sunset Region playoffs.

He showed off his versatility in a 3-1 quarterfinal win over Clark with 15 kills, 17 assists and four aces.

“The previous two years, he was strictly a setter,” Nelson said. “Just the idea of him developing attacking skills was amazing. Adding other aspects to our team helped quite a bit.”

State champion Bonanza dominated Southwest honors, with senior middle blocker Price Jarman taking MVP and Joe Cap being named Coach of the Year.

Coronado senior opposite Chris Andrulis was voted Southeast MVP, and Green Valley’s Kevin Barney took Coach of the Year.

Las Vegas High swept the Northeast’s top awards, with senior setter/outside hitter Luke Hansen being named MVP and Sue Thurman the Coach of the Year.

All-Northeast League
First Team
Tyler Crawford, Las Vegas; Jimichael Baker, Las Vegas; Guillermo Silva, Rancho; R’mond Hill, Rancho; Kyle Stankosky, Rancho; Ignacio Diaz, Valley; Mauricio Molina, Valley
Second Team
Ronnie Adams, Las Vegas; Garrett Jones, Las Vegas; Nathan Campo, Rancho; Adam Tuala, Canyon Springs; Jon Duhaylungsod, Canyon Springs; Peter Nunes, Valley; Tony Savea, Desert Pines
Most Valuable Player–Luke Hansen, Las Vegas.
Coach of the Year–Sue Thurman, Las Vegas.
All-Southeast League
First Team
Jahren Makanoa, Coronado; Kyle Divicino, Silverado; Beau Gronert, Green Valley; Byrin Romney, Coronado; Indigo Varela, Silverado; Jordan Royal, Silverado; Wesley Reed, Green Valley
Second Team
Nick Hevrin, Green Valley; Steven Jex, Silverado; Brandon Dau, Coronado; Weston Crum, Basic; Vinnie Gomez, Silverado; Tanner Humpherys, Basic; Dalton Webb, Tech
Most Valuable Player–Chris Andrulis, Coronado.
Coach of the Year–Kevin Barney, Green Valley.
All-Northwest League
First Team
Ryan Ramin, Centennial; Josh Arias, Centennial; Sean Wilson, Palo Verde; Brandon King, Palo
Verde; Brandon Fisher, Shadow Ridge; Cody Tesoro, Shadow Ridge; Gennady Shataev, Arbor View
Second Team
Dylan Morris, Centennial; Mike Robinson, Centennial; Dustin Buell, Centennial; Ares Manumaleuna, Cimarron-Memorial; Tanner Maxwell, Cimarron-Memorial; Trent Gneiting, Palo Verde; Justin Kent, Shadow Ridge
Most Valuable Player–Leo Durkin, Centennial.
Coach of the Year–Scott Nelson, Centennial.
All-Southwest League
First Team
Cru Leavitt, Bonanza; Khrumm Fahim, Sierra Vista; Preston Miranda, Sierra Vista; George Huang, Clark; Bobby Houser, Bishop Gorman; Blake Ringer, Spring Valley
Second Team
Kenny DeSoto, Bonanza; Craig Whiting, Bonanza; Jared Hyer, Bonanza; Cameron Carlson, Sierra Vista; Johnny Phane, Clark; Dallas Teshima, Spring Valley; Jordan Ringer, Spring Valley
Most Valuable Player–Price Jarman, Bonanza.
Coach of the Year–Joe Cap, Bonanza.