3A ALL-STATE: Pirates’ Larsen named coach of the year

Moapa Valley boys basketball coach Dallas Larsen was rewarded for guiding the Pirates to their first Class 3A state title since 2003 by being voted state Coach of the Year by his peers.
Guard Josh Thompson and forward Hayden Cooper also represented the Pirates on the all-state first team.
Virgin Valley guard Cameron Jensen took first-team honors, and Boulder City forward Nate Hafen was named to the second team.
In girls basketball, Virgin Valley center Rachel Morris and guard Madison Bowler took first-team all-state honors.
Virgin Valley forward Jenelle Weythman and Boulder City center Karlee Koopman were named to the second team.
Class 3A Boys All-State
First Team
Cameron Jensen, Virgin Valley; Martin Jordan, Sparks; Dylan Taylor, Dayton; Peter Pielaet-Strayer, South Tahoe; Josh Thompson, Moapa Valley; Hayden Cooper, Moapa Valley
Second Team
Kade Knutson, Fernley; Tyler Schroder, Churchill County; Derrick Stanford, Churchill County; Xavier Rodriguez, Sparks; Brandon Cramer, South Tahoe; Nate Hafen, Boulder City; Rahaun Marin, Elko; Austin Brown, Elko; Grant Miller, Lowry
Most Valuable Player–Sterling Michael Snow, Lowry
Coach of the Year–Dallas Larsen, Moapa Valley
Class 3A Girls All-State
First Team
Stacy Kerr, Spring Creek; Rachel Morris, Virgin Valley; Lena Wolf, Churchill County; Megan Shalvis, Tuckee; Zulieka Ginsell, Spring Creek; Madison Bowler, Virgin Valley; Aleigh Krug, Truckee
Second Team
Jenelle Weythman, Virgin Valley; Casey Scheller, Fernley; Aly Coronado-Smith, Truckee; Jenny Rechel, Churchill County; Amelia Maguin, Fernley; Anna Dubois, Elko; Julia Dufferna, Lowry; Mel Sabac, South Tahoe; Karlee Koopman, Boulder City
Most Valuable Player–Stacy Kerr, Spring Creek

pos-6 — ads_infeed_1
post-4 — ads_infeed_2