4A BOYS HONORS: Green Valley's McDonald leads by example

When Durrell McDonald transferred to Green Valley after spending his junior year in Mississippi, the Gators got more than an exceptional athlete capable of getting his own shot whenever necessary.

“He’s a great leader out there, too,” Green Valley coach Lorenzo Jarvis said.

The 6-foot-2-inch McDonald averaged 21.2 points, 6.6 rebounds and 3.8 assists in leading the Gators into a four-way tie for the Southeast League title.

For his efforts, he was named the Sunrise Region Most Valuable Player by area coaches.

“He’s a special player,” Jarvis said. “He goes out and works extremely hard and leaves it all on the court, night in and night out. He just plays the game and takes what it presents to him.”

Jarvis said he was especially pleased with the DePaul commit’s desire to win.

“It’s a treat to have a player of that caliber that understands it’s all about winning,” Jarvis said. “It’s not all about stats or him taking the big shots. If it’s about him creating for someone else or passing to someone else, he’s all about that.”

McDonald also highlighted the All-Southeast League team as its MVP.

McDonald and the Gators bounced back after a rough start to win the Sunrise Region tournament and advance to the Class 4A state tournament, which begins today in Reno.

The area’s other state tournament team, Bishop Gorman, had the MVP in the Sunset Region. Shabazz Muhammad, considered the top college recruit in the senior class. Muhammad also took Southwest League MVP honors.

Muhammad averaged 29.8 points, 9.9 rebounds and 2.5 assists in the regular season as the Gaels ran the table in the Southwest League.

McDonald was joined on the All-Sunrise Region team by Valley’s Caleb Carter; Canyon Springs’ Shaquille Carr and Gerad Davis; Coronado’s Michael Louder and Teyshawn Campbell; Silverado’s Ruben Jackson and David Ware; Las Vegas’ Hasaan Henderson; Foothill’s Brannon Cresanto; Eldorado’s Da’Quon Thrower; and Desert Pines’ Julian Jacobs.

Carter was named the Northeast League MVP, and first-year Canyon Springs coach Freddie Banks was the Northeast Coach of the Year.

Silverado’s Martin Ferriter took the Southeast League coaching honor.

The All-Sunset Region team consisted of Muhammad and teammate Rosco Allen; Clark’s Kentrell Washington, Sir Washington and Bryan McGriff; Centennial’s Marcus Allen and Malcolm Allen; Palo Verde’s Eris Winder and Nahjee Matlock; Durango’s Joe Tuss; Cimarron-Memorial’s Erik Brewer; and Legacy’s Zach Lane.

Brewer and Marcus Allen were co-MVPs in the Northwest League, and Centennial’s Todd Allen was Northwest Coach of the Year.

Gorman’s Grant Rice took the Southwest coaching honor.

Class 4A Boys Honors
All-Sunrise Region
Caleb Carter, Valley; Da’Quon Thrower, Eldorado; Shaquille Carr, Canyon Springs; Gerad Davis, Canyon Springs; Hasaan Henderson, Las Vegas; Julian Jacobs, Desert Pines; Michael Louder, Coronado; Teyshawn Campbell, Coronado; Brannon Cresanto, Foothill; David Ware Silverado; Ruben Jackson, Silverado; Durrell McDonald, Green Valley
Most Valuable Player—Durrell McDonald, Green Valley
All-Sunset Region
Marcus Allen, Centennial; Erik Brewer, Cimarron-Memorial; Malcolm Allen, Centennial; Zach Lane, Legacy; Eris Winder, Palo Verde; Nahjee Matlock, Palo Verde; Rosco Allen, Bishop Gorman; Bryan McGriff, Clark; Kentrell Washington, Clark; Sir Washington, Clark; Joe Tuss, Durango; Shabazz Muhammad, Bishop Gorman
Most Valuable Player—Shabazz Muhammad, Bishop Gorman
All-Northeast League
First Team
Carter, Valley; Thrower, Eldorado; Carr, Canyon Springs; Davis, Canyon Springs; Henderson, Las Vegas; Jacobs, Desert Pines
Second Team
Kevin Morgan, Chaparral; Thomas Hooper, Desert Pines; Phil Dunigan, Las Vegas; Chris Swanson, Valley; Ryan Johnson, Valley
Most Valuable Player—Caleb Carter, Valley
Coach of the Year—Freddie Banks, Canyon Springs
All-Southeast League
First Team
McDonald, Green Valley; Louder, Coronado; Campbell, Coronado; Cresanto, Foothill; Ware, Silverado; Jackson, Silverado
Second Team
Lamar Walker, Coronado; Nathan Kirschbaum, Del Sol; Elijah Smith, Foothill; Devan Kohn, Green Valley; Justin Johnson, Silverado
Most Valuable Player—Durrell McDonald, Green Valley
Coach of the Year—Martin Ferriter, Silverado
All-Northwest League
First Team
Mar. Allen, Centennial; Brewer, Cimarron-Memorial; Mal. Allen, Centennial; Lane, Legacy; Winder, Palo Verde; Matlock, Palo Verde
Second Team
Blake Claxton, Arbor View; Khalid Banks, Cheyenne; D’Khari Hicks, Faith Lutheran, Cardon Harris, Legacy; Chris Cook, Legacy; Michael Buchanan, Palo Verde; Jordyn Martin, Palo Verde
Most Valuable Players—Marcus Allen, Centennial and Erik Brewer, Cimarron-Memorial
Coach of the Year—Todd Allen, Centennial
All-Southwest League
First Team
S. Muhammad, Bishop Gorman; Allen, Bishop Gorman; McGriff, Clark; K. Washington, Clark; S. Washington, Clark; Tuss, Durango
Second Team
Ben Carter, Bishop Gorman; Ronnie Stanley, Bishop Gorman; Demetris Morant, Bishop Gorman; Ashton Howard, Bonanza; Diontae Jones, Clark; Sean Williams, Sierra Vista; Rahfe’l King, Spring Valley
Most Valuable Player—Shabazz Muhammad, Bishop Gorman
Coach of the Year—Grant Rice, Bishop Gorman