2A HONORS: Eagles’ Yamzon, Stars’ Jackson share league POY award

Lake Mead guard Justin Yamzon was the area’s leading scorer for most of his junior season.

Agassi Prep senior forward Kalinn Jackson led the Stars to the Class 2A Southern League regular-season title.

The duo shared the league’s highest award recently, when 2A South coaches named Yamzon and Jackson as Co-Players of the Year.

Yamzon, a 5-foot-5-inch sharpshooter, averaged 30.3 points, 4.1 assists and 2.6 steals per game in carrying the Eagles (12-16) to a berth in the league semifinals.

Jackson, a 6-1 swingman, averages 17.8 points, 4.3 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.9 steals for the Stars (22-5), who won the regular-season league title with a 13-1 record.

The Meadows’ Gary Hannig and Agassi Prep’s Wendell West, coaches for the two teams who advanced to the 2A state tournament, shared league Coach of the Year honors.

First-team all-league honors also went to The Meadows’ Garrett Gosse and Max Newman, Agassi Prep’s Anson Williams and DeCari Lide, Needles’ Aaron Burns and Lincoln County’s Chandler Katschke.

In girls basketball, Mountain View senior guard Briana Marruffo was named 2A Southern League Player of the Year.

Marruffo, a 5-5 point guard, averaged 19.4 points, 8.8 rebounds, 3.9 assists and 5.7 steals in helping the Saints (16-12) clinch their first spot in the state tournament since rising to Class 2A in 2008-09.

Mountain View's Mike Valenzuela was named Coach of the Year.

First-team all-league honors went to Lincoln County’s Leti Escobedo and Lacee Babcock, Needles’ Holly Laswell and Abby Chandler, Calvary Chapel’s Deja Harris and Lake Mead’s Taylor Badua-Kono.

Class 2A Boys Honors
All-Southern League
First Team
Garrett Gosse, The Meadows; Anson Williams, Agassi Prep; Max Newman, The Meadows; Aaron Burns, Needles; DeCari Lide, Agassi Prep; Chandler Katschke, Lincoln County
co-Players of the Year—Kalinn Jackson, Agassi Prep and Justin Yamzon, Lake Mead
co-Coaches of the Year—Gary Hannig, The Meadows and Wendell West, Agassi Prep
Second Team
Michael Hills, Needles; Matt Larson, Mountain View; Colton Hill, Laughlin; Ryan Rippetoe, Lincoln County; Terrell Kemp, Agassi Prep; Caleb Pitman, Lake Mead; John Ochoa, Needles
Class 2A Girls Honors
All-Southern League
First Team
Leti Escobedo, Lincoln County; Holly Laswell, Needles; Abby Chandler, Needles; Lacee Babcock, Lincoln County; Deja Harris, Calvary Chapel; Taylor Badua-Kono, Lake Mead
Player of the Year—Briana Marruffo, Mountain View
Coach of the Year—Mike Valenzuela, Mountain View
Second Team
Kourtney Gloeckner, Lincoln County; Jaycee Wadsworth, Lincoln County; Kaylee Calderon, Needles; Rose Adkins, Mountain View; Phallen Nelson, Calvary Chapel; Ruby Mackey, Laughlin; Shannon Regan, Lake Mead